top of page
1863_1_8.jpg

HISTORIC LOCATION

"Karchma 1863" is located in a historical place. The settlement on Bakšta Mountain, located at the elevated end of the street, existed long before the time of Gedimin, back in the 12th century. 

The antiquity of the place is evidenced by a boulder in the basement of the karchma, which was unearthed right there when the premises were being renovated. There is an opinion that this boulder was dedicated to the god of beer Ragutis, as it bears the mark of a bull. Most likely it was part of a shrine, the second stone of which stands in the square near the karchma.

Being one of the oldest streets in Vilnius, Bokšto Street is steeped in history. It has been mentioned in documents since the 15th century. There were many things here throughout the centuries: a Masonic lodge operated here, Stanislav Moniuszko gave concerts here, and an artillery bastion was located here. Józef Piłsudski, one of the founders of the revived Poland, spent his childhood and early youth on this street.

In the building where Karczma is now located, at the crossroads of Bokszto and Latako Streets, in the 19th century one of the oldest hotels in Vilnius, Niszkowski's Hotel, was located.  In 1862 Zygmunt Sierakowski, one of the leaders of the Uprising of 1863 (aka Kastus Kalinowski Uprising, aka January Uprising, aka Polish Uprising) stayed there. And it was here, shortly before the uprising began, that a meeting of the insurgents was held in a hotel, attended by Kastus Kalinowski, among others.  

And in 1905-1914 Dr Jonas Basanavičius, Lithuanian historian, folklorist, publicist, public figure, patriarch of the Lithuanian national revival, lived in the same house, as the memorial plaque on the building says. In the karchma you can find books with his works in Lithuanian.

Today, Bokšto Street is one of the most picturesque and atmospheric streets in Vilnius Old Town. It is home to cosy cafes and museums. Walking along this street, you can feel the breath of history and see architectural monuments from different eras.

img_4642-fyou2_edited.jpg

HEROES 1863

One of the outstanding places in Karchma 1863 is a wall dedicated to the uprisings of 1863-64, as well as the heroes of the previous rebellions of 1794 and 1830-31. Over time, the wall has become not only a symbol of our establishment but also a place that attracts the attention of visitors and raises many questions from them. We are pleased that the history of uprisings arouses such interest, so we want to offer you an online tour of our small exhibition. It is not only a description of the paintings that adorn the walls in "Karchma 1863", but also a collection of photos, videos, songs and even games related to our history. We invite you to go on a virtual journey.

IMG_20240508_184938-01.png
bottom of page

top of page
1863_1_8.jpg

ИСТОРИЯ КАРЧМЫ

"Карчма 1863" располагается в историческом месте. Поселение на горе Бакшта, расположенной на возвышенном окончании улицы, существовало задолго до времен Гедимина, еще в XII веке. 

О древности места свидетельствует валун, находящийся в подвале карчмы, который раскопали прямо там, когда ремонтировали помещение. Есть мнение, что этот камень был посвящен боку пива Рагутису, поскольку на нем заметен след быка. Скорее всего он являлся частью капища, второй камень из которого стоит на площади около карчмы.

Вся улица Бокшто, являясь одной из самых старых улиц Вильнюса, пропитана историей. Она упоминается в документах, начиная с 15 века. Чего тут только не было на протяжении веков: тут действовала масонская ложа, выступал с концертами Станислав Монюшко, располагался артиллерийский бастион. На этой улице провёл свое детство и раннюю юность Юзеф Пилсудский, один из создателей возрождённой Польши.

В здании, где сейчас находится Карчма, на перекрестке улиц Бокшто и Латако, в 19 веке располагалась одна из старейших гостиниц Вильнюса, гостиница Нишковского.  В 1862 году в ней останавливался один из руководителей Восстания 1863 года (оно же Восстание Кастуся Калиновского, оно же Январское восстание, оно же Польское восстание) Зыгмунт Сераковский. И именно здесь незадолго до начала восстания в гостинице состоялось совещание повстанцев, на котором присутствовал в том числе и Кастусь Калиновский.  

А в 1905–1914 годах в этом же доме жил доктор Йонас Басанавичюс, литовский историк, фольклорист, публицист, общественный деятель, патриарх литовского национального возрождения, о чем гласит мемориальная табличка на здании. В карчме вы можете найти книги с его произведениями на литовском языке.

Сегодня улица Бокшто является одной из самых живописных и атмосферных улиц в Старом городе Вильнюса. Здесь располагаются уютные кафе и музеи. Прогуливаясь по этой улице, можно почувствовать дыхание истории и увидеть архитектурные памятники разных эпох.

img_4642-fyou2_edited.jpg

ГЕРОИ 1863

Одним из выдающихся мест в Карчме 1863 является стена, посвященная восстанию 1863-64 годов, а также героям предыдущих восстаний 1794 и 1830-31 годов, которые вдохновляли участников последующих восстаний. За время работы стена стала не только символом нашего заведения, но и местом, которое привлекает внимание посетителей и вызывает у них множество вопросов. Мы рады, что история восстания вызывает такой интерес, поэтому хотим представить вам онлайн-экскурсию по нашей небольшой выставке. Это не только описание картин, которые украшают стены в "Карчме 1863", но и сборник фотографий, видео, песен и даже игр, связанных с нашей историей. Приглашаем вас отправиться в виртуальное путешествие.

IMG_20240508_184938-01.png
bottom of page